Will we carry our karma into space, too?

I’ve heard friends say it. I’ve heard a top business advisor in my area say it, and I’ve heard people I meditate with say it. ‘One day, we will have to go into space’.

The thinking is that one planet will not be enough. Aware that our lifestyles already require between 3 and 5 planets to be sustained at their current rate, or aware of overpopulation, or vaguely alluding to environmental crisis, or a combination of these things with a look to the future, people seem convinced that ‘space will be the only way to go’ if humanity is to have a future.

I have to take deep breaths when I hear it!

When I meditate, what I recognise with a non-dual mind is that everythingness and I are indivisible. Indivisible from the trees, the grass, the stones, the birds, the cats, the worms.

Knowing this changes my behaviour towards everything ‘else’, because it is indivisible from ‘me’.

It is human centric to think that if there are not enough resources for our preferences (actually, our insatiability) on one planet – we must get off this rock (in whole or in part) to pull in more.

Imagine we did find other planets to seed and inhabit. Imagine we did successfully exploit more of known space. Would we be happier?

Couples retire and sometimes buy property in warmer climates. Where I live, that’s usually in Spain. A few years ago there were stories of angry retirees selling up in Spain because of heat waves, recession, and in some cases simply divorce.

Wherever we go, our karma follows us like our shadow. It never fully leaves us. All we can do is gradually lessen the extent to which it governs and dictates who we are. Through practice. Mindfulness. Paying attention. Going to the still point of inner peace, and taking decisions from that place.

Karma will follow us to our new life in a hot country. And it will follow us to our new life on planet Mars.

When I’m walking on the pavement, I sometimes keep my eyes down, making sure to tread on as few beings by accident as possible. Last Autumn, because of climate change and a wetter weather pattern, there were tremendous amounts of snails. I tried to make sure I didn’t stand on them when walking past.

The snail on the pavement has as much right to its life as I have to mine, and Oneness teaches me this.

Oneness also teaches me that I really don’t need 5 planets to live happily. It is more important to extinguish my passion of insatiability. When I do, there is incalculable wealth in poverty waiting for me.

We must wake up quickly, I think, and understand that being at the top of the food chain does not mean we will always be there, deserve to be there, or have a right to be there. If we do not love our bees, or tend our trees, we will make the future very hard for ourselves.

Every being is important, and meditation teaches me this. If I do not take it to heart, then, I have not learnt a thing!

Leave a Reply

