The Law of Attraction is a Half-Truth

The law of attraction is so appealing. I hear more and more about it online each year. People trying it out, talking about it.

It’s appealing, I think, because it’s truthy. It has truth in it. But it isn’t the whole truth. And for that reason it may even be a dangerous teaching.

My own summary of the law of attraction goes something like this; and this is of course a summary and a personal spin on it so it won’t do the whole thing the justice it does perhaps deserve. ‘Reality is such that we live in a quantum hologram and our perception influences the outcome. So if you believe bad things will happen then they will. And if you believe success or good things will happen, they will’.

There’s truth to that. The universe wants us to be well. Also, if I believe bad things will happen or are due to me, then that will be my mental story and I will go about organizing reality to fit my belief. I will be an agent of change to my reality in as much as I will sub-consciously filter information, influence relationships, change circumstances, blank things out until they fit what I believe is going on. When the bad luck comes, I am then able to say “this always happens to me” or “there, I told you so”, and this feeds my pain body. My pain is fed. I can continue to justify to myself my pain and my drama. And so it goes on.

On the flip side, if I believe good things will happen or are due to me, then that will be my mental story and I will go about organizing reality to fit that belief. I will be an agent of change to my reality in as much as I will sub-consciously filter information, influence relationships, change circumstances, blank things out or allow things in until they fit my belief. When the good luck comes I am then able to say to myself “that was the law of attraction. It works”.

All that’s going on here is that our default state as human beings is that normatively we expect negativity. We all have a drama; a karma; a story. Quite often that story will be based on our conditioning. And quite often our conditioning has been negative in one way or another. And so nine times out of ten we are following the law of attraction negatively.

All that the law of attraction does is say that there’s a principle here and if you believe you can have positive change in your life you are more likely to get it. Now, that’s true. But not becuase the law of attraciton is true, but because through that discipline, that new habit, we thereby jettison the sub-conscious negative patterns. In doing so we are more awake to what is really going on; less likely to filter out information that would fit our negative story and so on.

All that the law of attraction is doing is encouraging us out of our everyday negative micro-dramas and mini-stories. Our subconscious controls. Once we have a method of doing that (of any kind) then of course we will see change in our lives.

But you don’t have to follow the law of attraction in order to attract all the success you can get, all the happiness you can get, all the joy you are able to experience. You just have to be awake. Alert to the present moment. Aware of what is really going on rather than what fits your drama.

And that’s really really important. Because sometimes reality will give me a wake-up call. Buddha was right, you know. Life is full of impermanence. Impermanence and entropy are the staple diet of the fabric of reality. And from those things arises pain and suffering. Pain and suffering can jolt us into awareness, and there comes the benefit of them. Enlightenment is often found the hard way. Again and again. And that will always be the case.

Now, a heavy jolt – some bad news – won’t fit a picture of the law of attraction alone. Sometimes it will disrupt that picture. What will we do if it does, and we believe in the law of attraction? Blank it out and blame ourselves. Maybe I wanted this to happen subconsiously! Maybe I wanted my cat to die! Maybe on some level I needed this bad thing to happen!

No. It’s just life. Deal with it.

For me the law of attraction is a new age version of the American prosperity theology. It’s no better than “go with bliss”. “Go with bliss” and “happiness bubble” and “avoid negative people” is not enlightenment. Enlightenment is sitting next to a difficult person until they are no longer difficult. Enlightenment is going with pain until it is nolonger pain.

Enlightenment is a knife edge. You are god but try holding on to that without ego. You can change your reality, but really you can only do that by being awake to the ways you tend to manipulate information to fit a picture and choosing a different set of options. It’s good to have dreams, but you can’t have dreams without a self; and the self is an illusion.

I’m learning to have dreams. I’m learning to set plans that will be a happy way to carve out a future. And that feels alien to do because of my karma. So I know I need to do it. And those plans may come to fruition. They may not. But I’m not going to get them to become real if I don’t believe they will (the law of attraction). Then again, they may just not; and that will be just how it is if that’s what happens.

Reality is not a vending machine or a self-service website. The Way is not a magic trick. And the law of attraction is not the whole truth.

Leave a Reply

